Alert With Thirst; Newest Piece

This has been one of my favorite pieces to not only do but I am pretty happy with the end result as well! A rare feat! This Jaguar took about 1 month to complete, including many days of not working on it because of going to work.

When you feel like you can keep working on a piece and time flies by, that’s when you know you are enjoying every moment of your work. And people notice. My fiance noticed how much I enjoyed working on it as well as the amazing people that watch me on Facebook.

Evolution 2

Majority of the piece was completed with Faber Castell Polychromos Colored Pencils and Sennelier Soft Pastels as well as Mungya Gallery Semi-Hard Pastels for the final details. A new mixed media approach was  a lot of fun.

I am very familiar with pastels. It’s been quite a few years since I worked with them but once I picked them up I sort of forgot why I stopped working with them. On second thought, I do remember why….they are very messy. But, that aside it felt great to work with them again. The main area I used them was the foreground and background. I wanted to keep those areas soft and out of focus, pastels achieved that perfectly.

The very last details, like the whiskers, I used a Semi-Hard white Pastel as well as other color variations to make the overall piece more interesting.

I had a lot of fun with this piece. Now, I may need a small break before moving onto the next one.

This piece is available on my website. I used Wildlife Reference Photos for the beautiful image to work off of.

Always Watching; 16x20; $300; jaguar drinking from a pond drawing; faber castell polychromos colored pencils and soft pastels

Alert With Thirst

12 wide x 16 high

Polychromos Colored Pencils, Soft Pastels & Semi-Hard Pastels on Fabriano Artistico Watercolor Paper

$300.00 – Buy Now

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

