30 Paintings in 30 Days: Week 1

Okay, didn’t get all week in but I did get 5 in. Which I must say is a great feeling.

I have learned so much and with each piece plus I can feel my skills as a painter growing.

With only 5 paintings done, and a couple more completed today (helps to get ahead!) I can see slight progress. No matter how small, it’s great to see.

Here are the first five:

img_1729
Coffee Anyone; 9×12; Oil on Canvas

Bid starting at $30 on my Daily Paintwork Page

Bid Now

Number 2 Stacked; 8x10; oil on canvas; 180; two coffee cups stacked on a plate with a banana at the side; small painting not stretched

Stacked; 8×10; Oil on Canvas

Bid starting at $25 on my Daily Paintwork Page

Bid Now

Number 3 Heels 5x7 in size; 120; high heel shoe; oil on gesso board.jpg

Heels; 7×5; Oil on Gesso Board

Bid starting at $20 on my Daily Paintwork Page

Bid Now

Number 4 Bottles & Box; 12x12; oil on canvas; 240 box, marbles and two glass bottles in oil blue background

Box and Bottles; 12×12; Oil on Canvas

Bid starting at $25 on my Daily Paintwork Page

Bid Now

Number 4; Little Bear; 9x12; oil on gesso board; 240; white sculpted bear oil painting.jpg

Little Bear; 9×12; Oil on Gesso Board

Bid starting at $25 on my Daily Paintwork Page

Bid Now

With each piece, I can see a slight bit of growth. Keeping them fairly small is helpful. Also, a limited palette.

All of these I have done with only the three primary colors including titanium white and burnt umber. Keeping things limited helps you from over thinking.

Another thing I did on some of these was set a timer. The first one, I set a little longer, which was 1 hr and 30 mins. The quickest one here so far was Little Bear which was set for an hour.

I also learned that I really do enjoy breaking a common oil painting rule. Usually it’s said to paint from dark to light. I find that for me, painting from light to dark is a lot more enjoyable and simpler. In a way for me, seeing the light first makes me happier. Very much a mind thing for me but hey, it works!

Stayed tuned for the next batch next week 🙂

Each one will be up for auction on my Daily Paintworks Page.

Follow each piece a little more closely on my Facebook Page and sign up for my free newsletter to be able to win a piece as well!

Leave a Reply

