Reinvention in 2016

Over the past few months I have been going through ups and downs in my goals, passions and daily life.

What do I want to do? What do I want to accomplish? Where I am going in my life?

The typical questions we all ask at some point.

I am happy to say the universe came down on me this Thursday to really wake me up and realize what my actual problem was. And it’s a problem I knew for a while but as usual, push it aside.

Fear.

Fear of moving on. Fear of failing. Fear of growing. Fear of succeeding. Fear of living. Fear of doing something different.

Fear is something we all have. It’s something we all need as well. Fear is not a bad thing if you tackle it in the appropriate manner. I want many things for my life. One of which is to have a stable/reliable career in art. To which, I haven’t been moving on very much. At least not in the way I should have been.I also want to be healthy and rock a fitness model body. I want to encourage others to make that shift in their life, to change the way they view things. Push past the problem and turn it into a challenge!

That is a lot to take on. But, I do love a challenge.

So where am I going with this? What shifted my brain in less than 24 hours? Let me share a little story. I encourage to you to read it:

I work full time at a picture framing shop. Perfect for an artist. I do more than frame artwork though. The small business I work for frames music/movie/history memorabilia for a company on the Strip here in Vegas. Lots of creativity, computer work and math (my arch enemy, we’ve grown to appreciate each other though).

As you can imagine Christmas time is a busy year. We don’t have to many of us working there either. 6 to be exact. Well, one of my co workers/friends found another job in another industry and took the chance on the job. Unfortunately she starts next week.

I wasn’t surprised she was leaving, she’s got a bright future ahead of her young life. I know she’ll do great things. Now, this made me think about my future. I have been at this business for almost 10 years. I love what I do but I want the business to grow. Giving my boss many opportunities to allow me to help them do this, I was shut down many times. In this moment I asked myself, “Where am I going?”

I don’t want to leave but I do want my own business to grow. And here is my buddy taking a huge risk with a job she has no experience in during the holiday season, just to move on. Wow. That moved me on another plane!

In that moment I realized how afraid I was to move forward. To put myself out there more. To think more in a business frame of mind with my work and not worry about my day job so much. I love my job but I was putting that and their needs first.

I was afraid if I started moving forward in my life I would disappoint them, be pushed out the door and left with nothing. That is a massive fear for anyone. But it’s also a bit over the top in terms of reality.

So, I talked to my boss about possibly going to 4 days a week at work so I could have an extra with my art/business. I am so lucky he is supportive in my decision. Nothing is finalized yet. But I do want to try this new schedule out for 1 month after the holidays are over.

The details will be worked out on Monday, I’ll be sure to update!

All this, and so much more from one person making a leap of faith to a different field. Our brains are fascinating.

For 2016 I want it to be my year of major growth. I will share my journey with you every step of the way. It will be the year my body shifts in a new way for strength. It will be a year of learning more about my own business. A year of vulnerability. A year of growth. A year of art. And a year of engaging more people with my work and bringing them out of the chaos of the world and back to Mother Nature.

I ask this of you. Ask yourself what you are afraid of. Is it holding you back in life? Address it, I beg you. It’s never to late to reinvent yourself, hell reinvent yourself several times if you want to! Please please please do not stop living and moving forward. We only have one life that we know of. Take calculated risks, learn from your mistakes and enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

