Health + Fitness + Art = Happiness

“When health is absent, wisdom cannot reveal itself, art cannot manifest, strength cannot fight, wealth becomes useless, and intelligence cannot be applied.”

Herophilus

Eat clean and exercise, we’ve all heard it. We know it’s good for our bodies, our brains, and our entire way of life. But why don’t we do it? “My life is busy” “To much time at work” “Try getting a workout in with kids”. The reasons are endless. But, health and fitness don’t just help the medical bills go down. It helps your creative mind too! Along with patience, time management, really you overall bandwidth.

I had an ‘ah ha’ moment about 5 months ago. It was late in the afternoon in the middle of the week, and I was exhausted. My mind wanted to draw but was so out of it, my brain could barely put a thought together. I remember thinking, “when my health is more in check, my drive to create is so much higher.” CLICK!!!

I realized how much more balanced my life was with health and fitness. It makes my work stronger, I get less frustrated, my ideas are broader, I take my time more, I don’t feel rushed/guilty when things don’t go smoothly. Not to mention how much my life improves over all. Since it takes most people several different shots at getting their health in check, my time came. The situation was right for me, my ticket had been called. And I am so grateful I opened my eyes to see that.

Sure my weight has dropped, and my goals to get fit are in full force. But why now? I’ve always wanted to be fit but the complete drive wasn’t there. Now it is, along with my art. I find that I’m not worried if I make it in the studio as many times per week now. Because when I am there, my focus is laser-beamed in. And when it’s not, I don’t get mad I let myself float to where I want to be. After all, work is better when it’s done under less pressure.

“A bad day for your ego is a great day for your soul.”

-Jillian Michaels

With incorporating fitness into my overall life, I pay more attention to detail in everything.
With incorporating fitness into my overall life, I pay more attention to detail in everything.

When I sit (or stand) to do my work it’s freeing to know that I am taking care of not only my mind and body, but my entire life. My reactions to stress is different, I can handle more pressure and sort it out easier. And one of my favorite parts: I push myself to do something, even though it’s hard. Detail on Snow Tiger isn’t easy, but it’s worth it! I’m worth it. And you know what, Safe Haven is worth it too. It’s not just about me, it’s about my entire world.

Honestly, I could go on and on about how this has changed my life. It’s not easy, but that’s the point. Anything worth doing, isn’t going to be easy. If I have time to watch television for 30 minutes, I have time to bust my booty for a workout. And I do, I find the time. Just like I do with art, cooking, cleaning, working, and life’s other curve balls.

Eat clean. Work your butt off. Be kind to yourself. And know, you are not alone. There are always people out there to support, push, and even join you. I want you to join me too. It’s not about getting those wash board abs (although, yes that is a goal of mine, because I Can) but because you are worth the hard work. So is your family, your career, your school, your everything.

So there you go. Look at how much it’s helped me. Not easy but, hell yes it’s worth it. Might I add I take Sundays to have one day solely to do whatever I want to do. Usually that’s drawing, painting, reading, gaming, cleaning, or being with loved ones. It’s my recovery day 🙂 Because, I’m worth it.

**Would you like to see more posts like this? More peaks into my life. It’s not all about paint and colors, the story goes deeper. Let me know your thoughts!**

 

Leave a Reply

