The Journey of Practice

It’s amazing what practice brings. It doesn’t matter whether it is art, reading, or how you answer your phone at work; practice is essential. To me, the best way to see the progress of practice is to look back on how your skills and knowledge has improved. I still have my very first oil painting and some of my drawings from when I was little. It’s great to look back at them, especially when I feel nothing has improved.

First new Oil Painting from about 3-4 years ago vs Sweet Caroline from a few weeks ago.
First new Oil Painting from about 3-4 years ago vs Sweet Caroline from a few weeks ago.
The dragon drawing was from about 2003 vs the tiger piece was done in October.
The dragon drawing was from about 2003 vs the tiger piece was done in October.

*Funny that both tigers are laying down :)*

I can’t help but say to look back on your work as often as possible. But what are others ways you can see or make improvements? Be brave (for myself it’s hard to ask this) and ask others how they feel your art (or any skill) has improved. Don’t worry about sounding to full of yourself, just ask. After all, you want to improve.

Educate yourself with others with the same interest/job as you. I live in a fairly small town, which is a little hard to find artists with the same interests as myself. To combat that I’ll find videos presented by artists, books (love love books), experiment with new subjects and just mess around with mediums.

One thing to remember is practice takes time. You never stop improving, always embrace where you are at in your journey now. If you aren’t in the moment now, the improvements will seem to feel further away. Keep creating!

Leave a Reply

