Ever Have a Busted Creative Mind?

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” 
― Kurt Vonnegut

Ever have a “I don’t want to do anything” day? Or week? Or weeks? I find those days a little frustrating. A day or two in a row I can handle, let’s face it, we all need to take a break from things. I am ready to have those creative juices flow as soon as possible. But, I am not going to stress myself out over it.

There are ways I use get my art fix in for these types of days those. One of which is to watch art instructional DVDs or watch artist’s paint. Love the time lapse videos that many posts their amazing work in progress. I also turn, of course, to my art magazines and books. Sometimes those two things do it! But lately, not so much. If anything, they have me brainstorming more. Which in a way is just as good as painting. At times all I want to do is plain out sketch. That’s great too!

Learning is a great way to expand your mind and yes, your body too. Don’t get mad when you don’t always have that creative drive. I tell myself that’s my way of my mind telling me to relax. When it’s time for me to sit down (or stand up) and do some art I will be ready. Until than, I’ll let my mind relax and learn.

Have a Happy Day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Ever Have a Busted Creative Mind?

  1. This is always a dilemma. I used to feel the way you do, but more and more I feel it is important to work and not sit there waiting for inspiration. Maybe because I am getting old and time is precious… I don’t know. Even when I don’t know what I am doing, it is better to do something even if it winds up in the trash later.

    1. I agree Anita, thank you for your thoughts. I have found that if just diving into art doesn’t work, simply learning art helps too. Was a tough week for some reason but, I feel more awake now 🙂

Leave a Reply

