Tip Tuesday: Colored Pencils

Welcome to the first, the First, Tip Tuesday 🙂 I have been working on oils for a while now. But over the weekend, I decided to take a break from paint and switch my medium for a while. Not sure how long but it’s always good to switch what you use, at least in my opinion it is.

I’ve always loved drawing. It is the foundation of any artist. Using colored pencils still gives you those bright colors that you may seek and it’s a different feel. I primarily use Prisma Colored Pencils, they are fairly oily, so beware they don’t erase to well (they can erase as long as you don’t press to hard in the beginning, slow and steady).

Best way to show you something is to give an example. This is what I am working on, a beautiful Golden Eagle:

After putting in a light outline sketch, I start slowly filling in the colors.
After putting in a light outline sketch, I start slowly filling in the colors.

When you work with Prisma Colors, always keep in mind that it is wonderful idea to plan ahead. Play with your colors first, figure out how the blend with each other, how light and dark they go and what colors are the best for your piece. Below is my “color chart”, I mapped out what colors go where and at the very bottom I left room to practice shading colors together. Works perfectly!

Here is my color chart. Between the light sketch of the eagle and picking out colors, the estimated time was about 2-3 hours
Here is my color chart. Between the light sketch of the eagle and picking out colors, the estimated time was about 2-3 hours

For the eagle I lightly sketched out a basic outline in hard graphite pencil. I kept the lines very light, that way when I go in with my color the lines can be removed easily. When using colored pencils, take your time. Pace yourself more than usual, you will be happier when you do. I love the amount of vibrant color you can get from Prisma Colors, they are beautiful and there are several different colors they offer.

Before you jump in and make a full on piece, play around with your ideas. Pick a simple subject first. The eagle isn’t so easy, mainly because of the feathers. Once you have a better handle on how to handle this medium go for the stars 🙂 Any simple subject can be amazing, take your time with it (I say that a lot haha).

There are many tips on how to use colored pencils, listed below is just that! I keep lists of tips with me in studio, I will pull them up when I am working on something, they help so very much. I also offered some links and books of media that helped me tremendously, enjoy :))

  • Keep your basic drawing light. Use graphite.
  • As you go in with your colors, keep the strokes light. If you make a mistake, they medium is more forgiving with lighter strokes.
  • Need an eraser? Use an electric one!
  • White colored pencil can be used as a blender.
  • Light over dark colors and dark over light colors result in different looks, map out what you want to use.
  • Use a color chart for each piece.
  • To get those darks really dark, press hard with the pencil.
  • Limit the use of black and try a different color, Indigo Blue is an excellent choice.

Books:

Lee Hammond’s Big Book of Drawing

Colored Pencil Techniques by Janie Gildow (all types of subjects)

Basic Colored Pencil Techniques by Bet Borgeson

Media (videos):

ArtistNetwork.tv

Youtube (clips)

Pencils 2

I sincerely hoped you enjoyed the first Tip Tuesday :)) If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear from you! 

Be Well and Create More!

 

4 thoughts on “Tip Tuesday: Colored Pencils

Leave a Reply

