Studio Sundays: New Piece & Themes

It’s been a productive weekend I must say. Finished one piece and began a new one 🙂

I am changing the way I do my blog a little. Nothing crazy! I just have a goal of blogging more often. It’s still somewhat of a work in progress but so far this is my plan, having themed posts.

  • Studio Saturdays & Studio Sundays (what I am working on, finished pieces and upcoming ideas)
  • Tip Tuesdays (Art tips! Free art tips!)
  • Wildlife Wednesdays (Dive into wildlife and nature a little more, a huge passion of mine)
  • Inspiration Friday (not set on the name yet, basically a blog of who inspires me, arts and in life)

I’m diggin’ it so far. Any thoughts on this layout would be very much appreciated 🙂

Anyways…..To the finished piece:

Cheyenne; oil on canvas, 16x20
Cheyenne; oil on canvas, 16×20
Buy now at www.taylorannfineart.com

 

I might go back later on and do some editing on her. But for now I call her complete. No artist is never satisfied completely with their work but we do learn when to walk away :)))

New Piece Has Begun……

I switched my medium for a little. Wanted a break from oils so I chose to work on this Golden Eagle in colored pencils. It's a challenge :))
I switched my medium for a little. Wanted a break from oils so I chose to work on this Golden Eagle in colored pencils. It’s a challenge :))
Set up is always important
Set up is always important
Here is my color chart. Between the light sketch of the eagle and picking out colors, the estimated time was about 2-3 hours
Here is my color chart. Between the light sketch of the eagle and picking out colors, the estimated time was about 2-3 hours

Switching what medium I use is always important to me. It gives me a chance to power down on what I just did and not get burnt out on it. Going from oils to colored pencils is interesting to me, you work differently. At least I find that I do. I’m more calm and I am in a way, more focused. Not that my mind is a mess when I paint, I am just much more focused on detail when I draw vs paint.

I tend to paint loose and free, using vibrant colors and focusing more on light and color vs detail. With drawing I really love doing the detail. Maybe because it’s easier for me, using sharp pencils helps :))

On Tuesday I will go into more detail about this subject of colored pencil vs oil, along with how I achieve detail with colored pencil. I haven’t used this medium in a while, I wanted to focus on my oil more. I feel that I needed a switch for some reason and very much so enjoy the use of colored pencil.

I will see you on Tuesday!! Hope to hear from you soon :)) 

–Have a suggestion about a topic you would like me to cover for Tuesdays? Let me know and I will work it out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

