Art is More Than a Hobby

For me, art is indeed more than a hobby. It’s a passion. A way of life.

I found drawing more than fun in elementary school. It was amazing to me. To be able to draw something on a blank piece of paper and recognize what it is. And have others enjoy the product. The main thing that excites me is the shading. After the outline is all good to go, going in with a pencil or brush and slowly bringing that outline to a piece of art. It’s a beautiful process. Not only is art fun but it heals.

Art was a huge thing for me to turn to in my childhood when things got hard at home. For a few years things were very difficult at home. A lot of fighting at all hours of the night, drug use and mental mind games. But I had three thing (or the other Big Three) that I always turned to. Art, Music and Hockey (especially the Detroit Red Wings, Go Wings!)

Things were rough to say the least. There were times when I felt, alone. When I went to other family members for sympathy, I would receive mixed reactions. Many times it would end with a “I’m not surprised that happened.” Almost as if, many felt my mother and I deserved it. It hurt. Thankfully friends were at my back with all the support in the world.

But when I couldn’t go to them when I was home, I had to find other means to sanity. That peace factor felt like a dream. Something that may never happen but I could find glimpse of calm in my Big Three. I could feel like myself for a few minutes or a few hours. I could let out my frustration through drawing, singing to Caged Bird and cheering on my Wings.

If I had those three things in my life at that time, thing would be okay. I would draw dragons and dinosaurs a lot in middle school, when all of this was that rough patch.

Put on Alicia Keys (Songs in A Minor), have a hockey game on or highlights and my drawing, that was a perfect escape. A perfect healer. The older I got I branched out with art. I wanted a little more of a taste. What else could I draw? Paint? Why? I just decided to do it.

I remember when I drew this and why. Fighting at home again. Screams echoing through the house. I grabbed my headphones, a favorite dragon drawing and my art stuff.
I remember when I drew this and why. Fighting at home again. Screams echoing through the house. I grabbed my headphones, a favorite dragon drawing and my art stuff.

 

I decided to became a professional artist. Art got me through hard times and it will bring me to good times as well. It already has. I am so thankful to have something as powerful as art in my life. When I hear someone say “I can’t draw, wouldn’t be any use to try”, I tell them just try it out anyways. Simply because, anyone can draw. You did in elementary school, why not now? Who cares it it’s “perfect”, nothing ever is but it is perfect for you.

It’s good for your brain and body to let go and create. It’s science! Seriously it is, it’s been tested.

Maple tree piece, Fall Day, from 2012
Maple tree piece, Fall Day, from 2012

 

Art is a blessing for everyone. Go out and do it! It might be a healer for you too. It might heal things that people can’t see.

Website: www.taylorannfineart.com

Facebook Page (like me) : https://www.facebook.com/TaylorAnnCreations

2 thoughts on “Art is More Than a Hobby

Leave a Reply

